how sharp should an axe be

I played with the numbers, and if the axe is allowed to deteriorate further before sharpening than is shown in the chart, you'd have to spend more hours sharpening and thus more time to complete the task. Sharper is always preferable. You can't discount anything. How to Sharpen your Axe by Hand – with a File and a Whetstone Sharpening an Axe with a File. The blue line - it takes a woodcutter 100 hours to cut down his quota of trees if he doesn't sharpen his axe. Use long, broad strokes from your shoulders outward. Yet another variant of the Woodcutter/Axe story: Face and Image recognition for the masses. However the technique is different – and you have to get it right to do the job properly. Find out more about how we use your information in our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. After working the axe head on the fine sharpening stone, it should now be razor sharp. I'm not good at mathematics, so I could not get an elegant formula and cancel out as many variables as possible, so I had to resort to a numerical simulation model. The maul's head is so wide that it rarely gets stuck in most species. When you sharpen an axe you should also consider the possibility that you may drop it at some point. How to do what you have to do, better, faster and cheaper. An axe should be kept sharp, given the provision that it has the proper edge geometry. Now you have an axe sharp enough to mangle paper. Mr. Woodard has it correct here. If the edge cuts your hair or leaves a notch in your fingernail, it’s sharp and ready for service. Sharper is always preferable. What is perfectly clear is this: the axe would eventually have to be sharpened or it will be blunted to such an extent that even minimal progress will be impossible. Razor sharp is the way to go, BUT you have to have the correct angle on the edge. The file does the initial rough work of shaping the edge and the profile of the axe blade. To enable Verizon Media and our partners to process your pers